Back to the gym

Since it was raining outside today, we went to run and work out at the gym. We had a pretty good workout, if I say so myself. I ended up running (still with a bit of walking in the middle) for 38 minutes, but it was an entire 5K (3.1 mi). During my race in August I had a time of 36.5 minutes, but these other couple minutes were my walking in the middle (actually I probably walked more – maybe about 5 minutes, but the parts that I did run, I ran faster). Some of the time I was going at 6.5 m/h, some of the time I had to slow down to 5 or even 4.7 m/h (obviously, I couldn’t keep up the 6.5 m/h pace the whole time, as much as I would have liked that). But I burned 520 calories! And also it’s a progress from my previous two workouts which were both just under 4K in just a tiny bit shorter time. Granted, it’s harder to run outside, especially in a more extreme weather, especially with some hills (that we have around our house), but I feel like at the gym I was able to push myself more, especially watching Stan run the whole 5K at 7.7 m/h! He finished the distance in just 25 minutes! Yes, I still have a long way to go to be that fast, but hey, baby steps…

We also worked out for about an hour on the weight machines and did some more cardio at the end (just walking). I probably burned close to 800-900 calories total, which is pretty awesome!

About runningtomygoal

I am on my journey of loosing at least a 100 lbs. This blog will document my progress towards this goal.
This entry was posted in progress, workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the gym

  1. Diana says:

    Your pace blows me away….you’re pretty much fabulous. 🙂 I go sooooooooo slow on the treadmill…..I keep my pace at 4.5-5.0 mph, otherwise my heart rate will sky-rocket and I can’t breathe. I’m hoping to do the 5k in 38 minutes. Also, I need to start running outdoors, because I’m worried about that I have ONLY run on the treadmill, and the impact, and cold, and altitude might kill me on race day if I haven’t even done some running outdoors. Good job!

  2. It’s a good idea to run outdoors – we need to practice some more outside too before MT. I just find it more convenient to run on the treadmill, since I can track the speed and calories, etc. But my pace is obviously not that fast all the time 🙂 Today, for example, I averaged 5-5.2 m/h I think because I was tired. I think I do better with running in the morning.

Leave a Reply

